This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts



Geddes The Sea provides a feel good soundtrack for the season with EP ‘Summer Vibes’

Released on the first day of the season, the EP Summer Vibes by Nashville’s Geddes The Sea (also known as Gavin Geddes) is exactly what the summer needed. Rooted in a playful, chamber pop sound, the EP soars through fun lyrics, horn riffs, staccato beats, and powerful harmonies. This is especially seen in "Sunrise" (streaming below) which opens the EP with an infectious melody and vocal arrangement reminiscent of other bouncy, alt-rock bands like Neon Trees. The theme of the release is overwhelmingly optimistic and light—all staples of a good summer pop album. -Lilly Milman

Sheep Shifter plays noisy rock you can headbang to

Approach with caution – the edges are sharp. Sheep Shifter is a mass of buzzsaw guitars and heart-pounding drums goaded into brutality by human cattle prod/vocalist Jonathan Nash’s depraved howls. Those familiar with Murfreesboro’s Sheep Shifter will confirm the caustic nature of their live show is nothing short of head-banging good time.-Sam Mattingly

Idle Bloom to play The End 7.8

Blending harmonious vocal passages, post-punk driving rhythms, and victorious choruses, Idle Bloom are a stand-out Nashville band who display some vulnerability and heart in a style of music often associated with the entirely cold and angular. Catch them winning over some loud rock/metal fans at The End in Nashville on July 8th with Husband Stitch, Pandemix, Anwar Sadat and Mutilation Rites.-Sam Mattingly

Lo-fi, slacker rock outfit TWEN plays The East Room 07.19

Recently relocated from Boston to Nashville, six-piece TWEN creates music that is an effortlessly cool blend of garage, psych, and slacker rock. On their live, self-titled album, Jane Fitzsimmons’ surfy voice drones over thrashing guitars, giving the effect of a punchier version of Best Coast. Her shoegaze-inspired vocals are what add the psychedelic twist to the grungy arrangements in songs like “Long Time” (streaming below) where reverb takes centerstage. Their sound is so defined in this EP that it’s difficult to believe it was recorded live—but they will be bringing their exceptional live show to The East Room on July 19th. - Lilly Milman

Early Humans unveil new single "Verge" + play The End on 06.21

The chorus is the most memorable part of Nashville-based garage rock quartet Early Humans’ new single “Verge” (streaming below.) Instead of getting boring, the repetition of the phrase “I’m on the verge” is actually electrifying—Hart Williams' vocals increase in power with every line, layering perfectly over the thrashing guitars to create an infectious rhythm (think early Weezer.) A fairly new band who has already seen their fair share of recognition, Early Humans describe the feeling of being “almost there, but not yet.” They will be bringing this energy to The End on June 21st at 8 pm. - Lilly Milman


- news for musician and music pros -